3 comments on “REMOVE/REPLACE CONVERTIBLE TOP SWITCH ON A 1970 CUTLASS SUPREME CONVERTIBLE (OF COURSE)

    • You can raise the top manually, but because of the pressure of the hydraulics it will not be easy. The pump has bearing valves so you can do it, but go slowly. If you drain the hydraulic fluid from the system the top will go up and down easily, just like the mechanical tops on X-bodies. I wouldn’t recommend this over the long term, as there’s a chance you can throw the mechanics of the top out of alignment. If you do this make sure to cap off the pistons and the pump to prevent moisture from getting inside and wearing down components.

      • Question I was driving my cutlass convertible than I started having electrical issues my car would cut off battery would not charge I replaced battery n alternator car is not cutting of no more but my convertible top isn’t workin what could this mean? I recall at one point when I started my car if I tried to push switch to open an close the top it will cause the car to shut off

Leave a comment